too many

Just a Nice Evening

A lot has happened. Most of it is irrelevant to many situations so I will leave it out for now.

Yesterday, the kids were visiting with the ex. During that time, she had promised them that they would go to the arcade that afternoon as soon as she had finished work. I arrived at the arcade and they were no where to be found. When she did arrive, they were noticeably late. Also the kids were upset that she was unable to take them on time to the arcade. The kids and I had made a previous arrangement. She begged me to let them go into the arcade so she could spend time with them.

I relented.

For the first half hour, I waited for them while reading my book. She came out afterward and told me that the kids wanted me in there so they could hang out with me as well. I went in and spent time with the kids while my ex was with them as well. Well.. It was more of one being with one and the other parent being with the other.

At the end of the evening, the kids had their fill of electronic stimulus (myself included), and we left. The evening turned out pretty good for both parties, it also reflects on the fact that it was the first time that my ex and I hang out in the same room for an extended period of time without fighting. I noticed it. She did as well. It was sobering and nostalgic to think of the family we had and will never happen again. Well, it won’t be soon to have another situation like that.

She txt’ed me a thank you as we headed home.

I reflect back upon it and in a sobering sense, I’m glad things are over. I know it sounds like I liked the evening…and I did… I just remember all the horrible things the kids and I have been through. I tolerated her that evening while not thinking of our situation. But I have not forgotten how I was treated and how she treated the kids as well. It was just a nice evening.

Leave a comment